February’s Empties

monthly empties

I love collecting my empty bottles and packaging. It makes me feel good about myself – I successfully finished a product and this itself is an achievement worth celebrating. Better yet, is feeling less guilty about buying new products and that at least there’s some space for something new and shiny.

Boots Expert Build Up Removal Shampoo
This shampoo is inexpensive and does what it says on the bottle. It’s not fancy but it does what it’s supposed to do – remove product build up leaving hair feeling like new. I always used this before using a leave-in hair mask. Build up removal shampoos can be quite drying in general but this one is a keeper.Recommended & Repurchased

Garnier Moisture Match Start Afresh Light Softening Cream
I like this dinky tube of moisturiser. I travel a lot between my apartment and my boyfriend’s flat and this is the one product I never forgot to take with me. The small tube is travel-friendly, no spillages and it’s perfect for normal skin. It’s light, freshly scented and made my skin feel baby soft. It’s also dirt cheap as I’ve purchased a new one already for £1.99 (on offer in my local supermarket.) This time I’m trying the pink tube version, which is for slightly drier skins. Wonderful. Recommended

L’Oreal Voluminous Mascara
L’Oreal mascaras are usually winners. They’re not as expensive as other drugstore mascaras and this one is no exception. I love the large bristle brush, I love the carbon colour and I love the volume is gives my lashes. Unfortunately it can easily smudge which ultimately stings my eyes 😦

MAC Face and Body Foundation (C1)
This is my favourite foundation ever. At first the £28.50 price tag seems a little steep, but you get a lot of product for your pennies. A whole 120ml. Usually MAC foundations (and most drugstore ones too) come in 30ml bottles. The shade is a perfect match. This is a light to medium buildable coverage foundation. It’s dewy, fresh and does cake in any fine lines. Recommended & Repurchased

The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil
I am a big fan of cleansing oils to remove makeup. They do a great job and this one is no exception. Even Caroline Hirons likes this one. And I have to agree. Good ingredients and not too damaging to the purse-strings. It is a pain to get hold of – my nearest Body Shop is a good few miles away and I can’t justify shipping costs for one item on the website. I’ve since purchased a different cleansing oil from Boots to try but I’m sure one day I’ll return to this. Recommended

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum foundation
I love this drugstore foundation to bits. Medium coverage and a healthy glow. Also “Ivory” seems to be a good colour match. I am slightly disappointed with the brand overall. The original Healthy Mix got a revamp but the shade range is now too dark and orange, and it’s the same for their Happy Light foundation. The serum foundation is the only one I can wear.

Botanics All Bright Cleansing Toner
After using this entire bottle up, I’m not entirely sure it actually did much for my skin. The natural AHAs in this product provide gentle exfoliation and brightening but it was so gentle it didn’t really help combat my blemish-prone skin. It’s cheap, cheerful and received lots of great reviews. If you’ve got sensitive skin I’d recommend giving this a try but otherwise it simply isn’t powerful enough for anybody with acne scarring like me.

Leave a Reply

