Maybelline Fit Me Foundation Review & Swatches

I’ve become a little bit obsessed with trying new foundations, so expect a few more reviews of different brands over the next coming weeks.

One of the recent foundations to be trialed and tested is a new launch from Maybelline. The main selling point of the Fit Me foundation range is their vast array of shades and colours – hopefully to provide the perfect match. Stateside reviews have been either hit or miss, some claiming a good match but very poor staying power and that it’s “too oily” or has too light a coverage. Others love it.

The British version seems to be totally different, or at least I have not come across the same problems as our American counterparts.

Presented in a gorgeous glass bottle, it’s sleek and comes with a built in pump. The foundation has a medium to high coverage, in fact it covered my acne and scarring really well to the point where I’d skip the concealer. I used the Real Techniques buffing brush that is part of the Core Collection and honestly couldn’t fault the coverage, which is suprising as it’s quite a runny foundation. Maybelline Fit Me foundation settles to a dewy finsih, without any shimmer or glitter (I’m looking at you Rimmel Wake Me Up!!) and feels comfortable to wear.

Shade 120 is just the tiniest bit too dark for me, and I really should’ve picked up 110 (Any shade ending in “0” have yellow understones, shades ending in “5” have pink undertones) but my local Tesco didn’t offer it and I didn’t feel like making an extra journey to Boots. That said shade 120 is totally workable and it’s barely noticeble, just me scrutinising my face far too much.

Wear time is okay. I can work up to 10 hours a day, and honestly wouldn’t expect any of my makeup to look as fresh as I applied it at 6am. I used my usual primer and powder and found that Maybelline Fit Me foundation wore no differently to the vast majority of drugstore foundations. It didn’t sink into or clog my pores, or melt off (as some American reviewers have experienced some “melting”). For £7.99 it’s not half bad.

4 thoughts on “Maybelline Fit Me Foundation Review & Swatches

  1. Howdy! I’m a new reader! I’m from the US, and I must say I noticed one glaring difference between the US and UK version of these- the pump! I wish all foundations came with a pump! However that said, I’m a fan of this. I have oily skin so I like lighter foundations. I definitely had to set this with powder, but on the whole it was nice 🙂

  2. A pump is pretty much standard here in the UK with any drugstore foundation. The only one I can think of that doesn’t is the Revlon Colourstay. How strange.
    I liked this foundation better than any of the other ones Maybelline has to offer x

  3. Pingback: What I’ve Been Wearing #2 | Glesni's Beauty Blog

  4. I’ve read other comments about coverage but like you I have acne scars and redness around my spots, and I found that the Real Techniques buffing brush + Fit Me foundation worked perfectly. I have other issues with the foundation (mainly oxidation in darker shades) but in natural light, it was amazingly natural looking.

Leave a Reply

