Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation Review & Swatches

So this is the new foundation launching early August at available Urban Decay stockists (Debenhams, House of Fraser). It’s called Naked Skin (UD still seem to be cashing in on the Naked theme…) and it’s available in a wide variety of shades. From the lightest to the darkest, from cool-toned to those who are warmer.

I’ve been given a sample of the product, and I have Shade 3.0. Shades ending in .0 are warmer, compared to the shades ending in .5 which are cool-toned. I’m fair, but often find myself using the lightest shade of a yellow based foundation. I’m C1 according to MAC.

Shade 3.0 is an okay match. It’s too orange/dark for my liking. Perhaps a shade lighter next time. Or even two shades lighter. Shade 3.0 is the most yellow based foundation I’ve ever come across.

I found that using not long after using my moisturiser and to use a buffing brush is best. If my skin is too dry to begin with it looks patchy. You can build up the layers once the first one has set, but don’t go too far as this foundation dries to a powder demi-matte finish. The light diffusing spheres which are supposed to make you look professionally re-touched (err, really?!), are good to create that dewy finish without your foundation looking “wet”. The coverage it fantastic. It worked well on my blemishes in just the first layer. Total coverage by the second. I’m impressed.

It also has some interesting ingredients aimed at helping your skin. An anti-wrinkle and lifting peptide, Vitamin E, Sodium Hyaluronate that attracts and holds water in your skin helping it to look smooth and soft and Japanese Green Tea which helps to calm and sooth skin. All these ingredients are a bonus.

I’d like to go back to get my hands on a lighter shade, otherwise I feel too self-conscience wearing so much yellow.

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation Review & Swatches

  1. Pingback: My Top 5 Posts of 2012 | Glesni's Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

