Orly Ruby (Glossybox)

When I received January’s Valentines Special Glossybox I was rather disappointed. The primer sample was too orange. The eyeliner in a colour I’d rarely use, if ever. I’d received a shower gel/body wash in the previous box, so why would I want another one? I have to admit, the cleanser was nice but it was a little drying.

So here comes Orly to save the day.

I have always wanted to try an Orly polish. I love the salon brands very much, OPI being a firm favourite and China Glaze a close second. The vampy red colour isn’t my thing, but I can appreciate how it fitted into the Valentines Day theme.

Red isn’t my favourite colour to begin with. When I was little, and played with my mother’s makeup, she only ever wore red nail polish. Which meant I only ever had access to this one colour. Annoyingly, they all stained my nails. Which is why a basecoat is absolutely essential when applying this shade.

Despite not being a fan of the colour, I did try, and wore it for 4 days. Application wasn’t easy. I found it streaky and the colour pulled. The brush is too small, but I expect this has more to do with the mini size of the product and hopefully doesn’t apply to full sized products. You can see in the picture (2 coats) that the colour is a little streaky still. I applied another coat after taking the photograph, which was better.

Fairly quick to dry and glossy. I got a couple of days wear without chipping. Will I be trying more Orly polishes? Probably. £6.96 for a full 18ml is quite the bargain. But for now, I can at least stop lemming Orly polishes.

Leave a Reply

