Maybelline Lasting Drama 24H Gel Eyeliner

I’ve finally finished my little pot of MAC Blacktrack fluidline, so I’ve been searching for a gel eyeliner alternative. After reading many wonderful reviews about Maybelline’s offering, I just had to go out and buy it.

The product comes in a nice, simple, small frosted pot. It also comes with a small eyeliner brush, which makes the £7.99 price tag really appealing. At the moment it’s only available in black, but I’m sure due to it’s popularity that Maybelline will release more colours. They’d be stupid not to.

The eyeliner is soft and creamy, doesn’t tug and dries to a matte finish. I was actually impressed with it. But then I tried wearing it for a whole day, and then it quickly went down hill.

Maybelline claim that this eyeliner is non transfer, but it easily smudges and ended up all over my eyelids. I tried not to rub, applied a primer and left it time to dry but it still insisted on smearing. The colour itself isn’t very intense, it’s almost charcoal rather than the true deep black I’m used from MAC’s Fluidline. The color can be darkened by applying more layers but I think that only adds to the smearing problem.

The only way I can use this little pot of eyeliner is to apply a very thin line at the base of my lashes to make them look thicker. Certainly no thick, winged line for me. Which is a shame, as I had really high hopes for this product. But it’s just too creamy and the lasting power awful (definately not 24H!).

Anybody else having problems with this eyeliner? Any ideas on how to make it stick?

Leave a Reply

