Review: The Body Shop’s Rainforest Radiance Shampoo & Conditioner

Searching for the perfect Shampoo and Conditioner for my coloured, damaged and wavy hair is a time-consuming challenge. I really like that this duo from The Body Shop has no silicones, no paraben, no sulphates or colourants. The shampoo smells amazing thanks to the pracaxi oil, bilberry extract, linseed oil and Community Trade sugar. The conditioner also has a similar scent, but not as yummy.

This pair are designed for coloured hair and contain a UV filter. I have almost finished both bottles, and haven’t even bothered heat styling my hair this past 2 weeks. My hair feels so soft right now that I’m quite excited to try the rest of the range.

The shampoo is a clear, runny liquid in a flip top plastic bottle. It foams up really well for a sulphate free shampoo which is enough to gently clean your hair. I like to shampoo twice, mainly out of habit, and find that is does lather much better the second time around. Rinses out easily.

After shampooing I use the conditioner and leave it on for a couple of minutes. It’s thick, difficult to squeeze out of the bottle, and lightweight. For the Summer, this leaves my hair soft and shiny, but I am concerned that it’s not going to be moisturising enough for the dry Winter months. It also leaves my waves fluffy to begin with, then limp on the second day.

So the Radiance Shampoo and Conditioner aren’t quite for me, and I’ve already purchased the Honey Moisture shampoo and conditioner to see if they’ll make a difference (expect a review soon). If your hair is in relatively better condition than mine (not bleached to within an inch of it’s life about a year ago…) and doesn’t need a heavy conditioner, then gives these two a shot. You might find yourself surprised.

Both of these products are available in-store or online. They both retail at £2 for a 60ml travel size bottle, or £6 for a 400ml bottle.

Leave a Reply

